The Last Day of 2010

To usher in a new year, my company held a year end party for staff. As we were allowed to bring children, I brought Jordan along. I would have loved to bring Ian along too, as he loves to eat, unlike Jordan. However, two active little imps were too much for me to bear, hence Jordan, being the elder one, always had the privilege of going for parties and such. Well, it wasn’t exactly a so-called party — more of a celebration with some entertainment and food. Jordan was really looking forward to tagging along with me and kept telling me he was going to the party with me days before. He thought that there would be presents, but to set his expectations right, I had told him before hand that he might get a goody bag but there probably won’t be any presents. This morning, he was awfully excited about the party (though seriously, it was no big deal) and wore his socks and shoes, and was ready to leave way before we were. However, once we were there, Jordan was his usual restless self and kept walking around. His attention span was short and he kept swinging the door gift I had received, calling it a magic wand! I was so afraid he would say the wrong things to the wrong person. I kept reminding him that nobody is ‘fat’ in my office — cuz once, when we were at the play ground, he saw a little girl a few years older than him and asked me why there was somebody in the playground. I said the “jie jie” had come to the playground to play and he replied instantly “that is a fat jie jie” loud and clear and I was so embarrassed! I mean, just imagine if he said that to my big boss?!! Fortunately, that didn’t happen. However, something else happened, which wasn’t exactly something good too. I had hoped Jordan wouldn’t get too near to my big boss, for fear of him saying the wrong things to her. In the mind of a little boy, anything goes and he says whatever is on his mind. He doesn’t pause to think if he should or shouldn’t say something. Who knows my big boss actually came to my cubicle to offer Jordan four snicker bars when he was busy watching some videos on my computer. Obviously he was distracted by the video and wasn’t too keen to be disturbed. Hence, I had to prompt him by saying “Auntie has some chocolates for you”. I was glad that he immediately came forward to say “Hello, Aunty!” rather cheerfully. However, when he saw that they were chocolate bars, he showed his disappointment and said “I dun want, I don’t like chocolates, I like sweets!” My big boss insisted “they are sweets!” and Jordan insisted “No, they are not sweets, they are chocolates”. Anyway, in the end, she left them there and told Jordan he could give it to his brother. Jordan used to love chocolates, I dunno what got into him lately – he prefers sweets over chocolates! And he even had the cheek to tell me he was very honest, when I was relating the incident to Lawrence! Oh well!

In the evening, Lawrence & I brought the kids to Esther’s place for a mini gathering, together with Sharon and Poodie. Baby Keanan has indeed grown alot, and is looking a lot chubbier compared to the last time I saw him. I sure hope he quickly grows up, then Jordan and Ian will have a playmate when we hang out — the kids can keep themselves occupied while the adults gather! Haha.

I was glad that Ian kept himself pretty entertained with the dogs, although, he showed some fear of the dogs at the beginning (which was surprising to me, as he has always had a fondness for dogs). He warmed up soon after and although he was still kinda afraid of Prince, he kept wanting to go behind Prince and touch him! Jordan, on the other hand, was keeping Lawrence very busy by dragging him to the playground, just outside Esther’s unit. Lawrence and I originally thought of bringing the kids to see the fireworks after that, but didn’t in the end, as the kids were tired out and fell asleep soon after we reached home.

Overall, it was a fruitful last day of 2010 and it’s time to think of new year resolutions for the new year!=)

About misskimberella

I love shopping, mineral makeup, natural stuff and eating!
This entry was posted in All, Family, Stories of Ian, Stories of Jordan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment